QCAD - getting started guides.

adrian

Flying Squad
Unaccustomed as I am to public speaking I find myself in the slightly unusual position of having published a couple of short guides to using QCAD.

I've posted in a couple of other threads my initial attempts at getting some etchings done, for which I used QCAD, a free open source (in places) CAD package. This has prompted a couple of queries from members interested in how to use the software themselves. Hence these video guides.

I'm a rank amateur both in video blogging and CAD drawings so any suggestions or feedback on either front are gratefully received, any way these are first couple of videos to test the waters, if there is sufficient interest and my rambling dialog isn't too excruciating then I'll churn a few more out.

The first one covers the basic setup of QCAD, drawing preferences, layers.

I then move onto drawing a line, entering values on the command line, absolute and relative values.

Finally a bit more about snap points for connecting lines, snapping to points and copying lines.

If this has proved useful then please let me know, also any requests for clarification or subsequent videos?

Len Cattley

Western Thunderer
Hi Adrian, had a look at your instructions and found them very usefull. I would like to see more of them as it would help me to understand what I need to do.

Len

S

SteveO

Excellent idea Adrian. I use Illustrator at the moment but I'm looking for something more CAD oriented. I don't want to jump the gun here, but will there be a 3D series to follow on? Maybe using the QCAD drawings as a base?

Following with great interest.

Railwaymaniac

Western Thunderer
Following with interest - yes. Great interest. More lessons, please . . .

Oddly enough, this reminds me of computer intro courses back in the 1980s when folks were all trying to learn assembler code for for the first microcomputers.