Greetings from Burford

Burford

I have just joined Western Thunder, as I am still finding continuing problems with the functionality of RMWeb. I never started a thread on that site, but did occasionally comment on one or two GWR topics.

My moniker here is the name of my layout, as I have been building ‘the Burford Branch’ in 4 mm scale for many years. The track gauge of the layout is nominally P4, but (as some of you who are already familiar with my writings elsewhere will know) I am guilty of the dreadful heresy of using EM wheels re-gauged to the minimum P4 back-to-back setting (17.7 mm approx.) Don’t worry; I have no intention here of reopening the controversy I caused by this appalling apostasy!

I won’t post here on my layout, as there is a well-established thread on the Scalefour Society’s webforum (The Burford Branch - Scalefour Forum), which can also be accessed on the “GWR Modelling” website.

I will attempt to post a few photos of the layout here, but as a tyro on this site, I do not yet know whether this will work.IMG_7048.jpgIMG_7055.jpgIMG_7505.JPGIMG_7256.JPGIMG_7262.JPG

NewportRod

Western Thunderer
Welcome Martin, I happened to be in Burford on Saturday (what on earth happened to the sewerage system?). Your layout really captures the look and feel of the place.

Burford

Confession time: There are quite a few buildings on my layout that don't actually come from the real Burford, although the old malt kiln seen in one of the photos I posted is part of the former Garne's Brewery, and can still be seen in Priory Lane.