Greetings from Gosforth East

Herb Garden

Western Thunderer
Hello and greetings from Gosforth!

Thanks for letting me join. I'm looking forward to being part of this community.

I've been playing with, tinkering with and making model trains since I was very young with mixed results that have hopefully got less mixed over the years.

Due to the nature of my life/work since I graduated from university a decade ago I've lived in a bonkers combination of rented flats, hotel rooms and more latterly a dooer upper DIY disaster of a house which has meant layouts are a thing that for now get thought about but no more than that. But where layouts are wishful thinking I have over the years made a fair few models of Locomotives and rolling stock that are all waiting patiently wrapped in tissue paper stored safely in a cupboard.

My passion is crafting things from scratch and I get great pleasure and a fantastic sense of calm from working with materials such as card, wood and metals. Working in the cutting edge but stressful robotics sector it gives a fantastic sense of well-being to just make something by hand from simple materials.

I realise I should have said sooner.... I've recently graduated into 4mm EM gauge.... Growing up in the 90s the trains of the day did absolutely nothing to inspire so instead I make models of the Victorian GER Locomotives and rolling stock.... Although my interests are very fixed geographically they can wander as far as exact time period....