Patterns For Resin Casting - What Is Feasible?

Dog Star

Western Thunderer
I have no experience in either casting parts in resin or making patterns for resin casting so I am starting this topic from a very definite point.... zero, lots of nothing, no map and no direction. The objective is to make some patterns for a 7mm carriage and have those patterns cast in resin; the prototype is the GWR Passenger Luggage Van of diagrams K14, K15 and K16. I intend to make the carriage sides by cutting and rejoining the sides of a V5 kit and the ends from the same source (and before anyone asks... David White is aware of this project and is supportive of the intended approach).

In preparation for cutting and joining there are a few questions which have come to mind and I invite comment / guidance on those concerns. The overall length of the K14 carriage is 40' (prototype) or 280mm (7mm scale), thickness of side circa 3mm - 4mm... and there is turnunder to the sides and to the ends.

[1] what shrinkage is likely in the resin castings compared to the patterns?
[2] what works best.... an one-piece body or separate sides and ends?
[3] what works best.... a body with integral roof or a body with integral floor?
[4] with or without the guard's lookout? (which projects about 8mm from the body side)
[5] what is the minimum thickness which can be cast for a lap joint? (as in the Slater's approach to the joint between 7mm sides and ends where the lap on the sides forms the outer piece of panelling on the ends).