7mm Polbrock - About a Camel and a Badgers Pool

Jelle Jan

The Bodmin and Wadebridge Railway is one of my favourite British railways for some time now, and I studied the line to find myself a location to be modelled in 7mm scale. It was part of studying lots of branch lines, mostly in the Western Region, but unfortunately nothing came to fruition.

In about the same time I did the software part of an oil and gas project (for my boss of course) for Oman. The colleague, who did the commissioning on site (actually in the desert, between the camels), frequently needed my telephonic assistance, because of all the last minute software changes required. To thank me, he bought me a little stuffed camel in Oman, that he gave me, when he returned in the office, a lovely gesture.

20220103_200904_1500x1000.jpg

I interpreted this as a sign, like Paulo Coelho learns us in his books. My layout had to be the Bodmin and Wadebridge Railway, that actually follows a river called Camel, the whole trip from Wadebridge to Wenford Bridge. It's a Southern line with a mixture of Southern and Western engines and rolling stock. I started making the cottages of Helland Bridge, but then discovered, that making photos of the completed model landscape would be even more difficult than in reality, because of the many trees and bushes around the cottages. And how to realise a clay train of end door 5 plank open wagons? Nevertheless here are some photos of these cottages I started, and who nows what the future will bring.

20220104_131507_1500x950.jpg

20220104_131533_1500x950.jpg

20220104_131643_1500x750.jpg